Communicator Awards

The AWC Springfield Chapter offers awards to recognize outstanding individuals within AWC Springfield and the greater Springfield area community.

Nominations are open until April 15, 2018 for the next AWC Springfield Professional Communicator and Chapter Star Awards.  

Professional Communicator Award 

Chapter president Kara Kienzler with 2016 Professional Communicator Award Recipient, Kyla Kruse
Chapter president Kara Kienzler with 2016 Professional Communicator Award Recipient, Kyla Kruse

The Professional Communicator Award is presented annually to any Springfield area communications professional who has made a significant contribution or impact to a non-profit, for-profit or media organization or who has made an impact in the community as a communications leader, innovator and mentor over his/her careers and especially during the past year, and has had outstanding results.

Nomination Instructions for the Professional Communicator Award

Previous Award Winners


Chapter president Kara Kienzler with 2016 Chapter Star Award recipient, Dawn Pennington

Chapter Star Award
The Chapter Star Award is presented annually to an AWC Springfield member for their outstanding involvement and participation in AWC.

Nomination Instructions for the Chapter Star Award

Previous Award Winners

AWC National offers four awards to outstanding communicators.  Awards at the national level include:

The Clarion Awards to annually recognize excellence in communications fields.
The International Matrix Award to reward a communications professional for achieving the highest level of professional excellence.
The AWC Headliner Award to recognize an AWC member who has recent national accomplishments, as well as consistent communications excellence.
The Hall of Fame Award, Lifetime Achievement Award, and many other ways to be recognized for excellence in communications.

 We invite you to send nominations and questions to the AWC Springfield President.

Our chapter awards an educational scholarship to students who are studying for a career in communications.

The AWC Springfield Educational Scholarship is given to a college junior, senior or graduate student from Central Illinois or attending a college or university in Central Illinois who is majoring in communications, journalism, public relations or a related field.

Applicants must demonstrate a commitment to pursue a professional career in communications or a related field and service to the field through extracurricular or job activities.

The Community Foundation for the Land of Lincoln (CFLL) administers the application process, and applications are reviewed by an independent panel of judges.

Learn more:  AWC Chapter Scholarship


Leave a Reply